Meet Mayhem

mayhem |ˈmāˌhem| noun

violent or damaging disorder; chaos: complete mayhem broke out.

unnamed copy 3.jpg

Remember that puppy I introduced you to a couple posts ago? His name is Mayhem. At a mere 10 weeks old, Mayhem does not cause mayhem at all. He is the most laid back puppy I’ve ever met. He’s a sweetheart. Mayhem is a rescue dog.

Hemmy was born to a female dog, presumably, about 2.5 months ago on a farm in Mississippi. He did nothing wrong, yet he and his 2 siblings were unwanted. We may never know why. As I say, their loss is our gain. They were then taken to the vet at 6 weeks old, given their necessary booster shots and checked out briefly, then sent up to good, old New York City to start their lives anew.

Not far from New York City, around the same time as this was all happening, I was at home debating whether I should start fostering again. I had taken a break because of travel and moving, but I was starting to get that foster itch. That feeling of something missing. Remembering all the dogs and cats of past, as well as seeing photos of all the new ones who need homes. The urge was too strong, I contacted the rescue I have worked with for years and told them I was ready to foster again. Holly DeRito, my puppy rescue hero got back to me very quickly to let me know that I could choose a pup from the site and have him by the following week.

Puppies aren’t like grocery items, you can’t just squeeze their heads to determine which will fit your lifestyle. For a new foster, knowing what you can and can’t do is very important. Sometimes you can’t predict things that will force you to hand over the pup to another foster, but we aim to avoid any problems like that. As a fairly experienced foster, I have a pretty good idea what I can handle, and what my own dog can handle. My dog, Lolita Lollipop Unicorn (also known as Lolly) has been very patient, but can also only handle so much…. Taking into consideration other pets, family members, housing, costs, space, time, and patience, many people can foster a young puppy. Other people require an older dog who is already housetrained. If you live in a building, you have to know what your landlord, contracts, and neighbours will put up with. Remember, many dogs have separation anxiety, this means they may bark, whimper, and scratch if you’re not nearby. You have to prepare for messes, a little destruction, and having to be home enough throughout the day to walk, feed, and love your dog. Health conditions do come up, training may cost you, treats and toys, and various other necessities depending on the animal.  Are you traveling? Moving? Otherwise tied up? Maybe it’s not a good time to foster/adopt. If you have someone willing to dog sit, all the better! Just keep in mind, then that person also has to fulfill all the temporary housing requirements.

unnamed-4.jpg

Lolly is weary of this little guy (Ducky, 2015)

Yeah, fostering and adopting is a commitment. There’s a lot to keep in mind. Would I say it’s HARD, though? Or unpleasant? Nope. Because I love the animals I foster. I love the whole experience. Saving a puppy or kitten who barely had a chance is one of the most fun, exciting, and kind things you can do! It’s really more of a compromise: if you’re willing to do your part, out of it you get a best friend.

3.jpg

Hand…touching hand…. (Taffy, 2015)

If anyone has convinced you that rescue dogs are ugly, mean, stupid, sickly, or otherwise undesirable, they too have been sadly misinformed. Typically, the opposite is true. An adopter once told me, “We bought two purebred pugs once and both got very sick due to inbreeding. We’re only rescuing mutts from now on!”

The number of times I’ve heard this same story is astounding. Unfortunately, it’s absolutely true. When siblings and cousins and distant relatives are forced to mate, they create unhealthy and abnormal babies. As to the other rumours….

Ugly?P9200016.JPG

shirt.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And MEAN??

 

 

 

 

 

 

How about unhealthy?

PB250019.JPG

Eh, maybe. But I’m willing to look past it

P2040022

Doc, Hero, and Bella (2013)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dexter and Bug (2012)

If you’re interested in fostering or adopting, please do your research. This is a long, long commitment and lots of responsibility. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me or your local dog rescue.

Click the ‘Follow’ button below to tune in for more animal and adoption stories, tips, and information!

Leave a Reply

