Sneaky Vegan: Breaking Barcade

If I said there was a spot in Jersey City on Newark Avenue called Barcade, what would you think it is? A bar, maybe? How about an arcade? Or, do you think that it’s a bar that’s also an arcade?? Well… yeah, that’s what it is. You would be right. It’s pretty obvious now that I think about it.

And, I guess being that it’s a super hipster concept, we all can assume they have vegan food, right? Is everything so obvious?! What I bet you didn’t know is that they have a really good deal on lunch everyday until 4 PM. Okay- maybe you did know that. Maybe you eat there once a week every week for that very reason…. Then, why are you even here? Just go away.

BARCADE_JC_WINDOW_DISPLAY_2LZ

See? Yeah. For those of you who didn’t come here just to fact check, you can see that this is a sweet deal. Sandwich, beer, pretzels, AND pickle!  Take note of all those items. Note how sumptuous and delightful everything looks, especially those cute pretzel nuggets.

I went into Barcade for the third time in my life. The first time I played arcade games. The second time I had a drink. This time I had the $10 lunch special! It was about 1.30 PM on a Monday afternoon and there were 2 women seated at the bar. I sat near them and played it cool. I checked out the menu, as if I hadn’t looked over the menu 400 times before arriving, just to make sure I could pronounce my order and not get some random dairy item on it by accident.

The tricky part was the beer menu, since there were so many options I had never heard of before….

IMG_5979

Finally, I went with the Brooklyn Sorachi Ace because they describe it as “Belgian candy sugar”. They know me so well. I just wish I had noted the “10 oz. pour” part. I’m a thirsty person! I have thirsty needs!

I placed my order real cool-like, “Hey- can I get a Brooklyn Ace and a vegan veggie burger.”

They know you mean business when you say, “Can I get…” but don’t say it as a question. Basically, it means I’m a cowboy. That’s universal.

He took my order, took yet another swig of ‘free sample’ beer from his ‘free sample’ beer glass, and placed my order. Meanwhile, I leaned back (since I took the only barstool in the world with a back) and watched ‘Secretariat’ on the television. Yep, I’m a cowboy.

Barcade is a poorly-lit spot, obviously. You don’t want reflections on the glass of your arcade game. Duh. But it’s definitely packed with games and whimsically written food, beverage, and snack options on a chalkboard wall. IMG_5977

They have all sort of liquors and beers and chips and nuts and jerky and who knows what else?

The beer came without any issues. I drank it without spilling it. I liked it quite a lot, too! Cowboy life. He also knew I needed two coasters for my beverage. ‘Cause I’m an unpredictable sort. Who knows if I’ll boomerang one coaster or rip it in half. I’m a loose cannon, baby.

IMG_5978

Just at the climax point of the movie, my food was served. Ooh!

IMG_59802

So… does this look like the advertisement to you? Because I was a little surprised. You can’t tell by the photo, but my sandwich was a baby sandwich. It was small. What you can tell is that my pretzels were not nuggets. My pretzels were pretzel-shaped and definitely emptied out of a brown and tan bag.

Another thing to be aware of is that 1- the bread is thin and quite hard 2- There was no spicy ketchup on my sandwich/burger thing. I could have asked for some ketchup, but I didn’t want to interrupt my alcoholic waiter’s ‘sample drink’ frenzy. I also wanted to be able to taste my burguh.

First bite was anti-climactic. The veggies and crumbly bread got me so disoriented and distracted that I didn’t taste much. So, I removed the lettuce, I ate the tomato and onion (pickled onion? Tasty!) and left the burger on the jawbreaker bread.

For those of you at home wondering what kind of veggie burger it was:

6 oz. fresh patty of beets, brown rice, and black beans
topped with cheddar, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, mayo
& spicy ketchup on a bun (Vegan on request)

IMG_5981

The burger was crumbling, and the bread was really not cooperating…. But, honestly, it was a pretty unique and tasty patty! The pickle was also really good. Like, really, really good. I wanted ten more pickles.

Much like life, I did not get what I wanted. I got food to keep me alive, I enjoyed bits and hated bits, but I had a new experience and had no regrets! Plus, for $10 and a $2 tip, I was a happy little penguin. That’s enough for me, I’d do it again! Edible, worth trying, and cheap, but I wouldn’t take my mama here for her birthday.

So, I’d give this unexpected little lunch spot:

Rating: 7/10 unicorn hugs

Check out things you’re not eating right now:

http://barcadejerseycity.com/

Follow my blog to tune in when I review something else!

 

Leave a Reply

